Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there. Im new to the mk4 owners club, and i have yet another problem with xenons which im hoping to be helped with by you guys.

Ok, i own an R32 replica mk4 diesel in reflex silver 3/dr which im retrofitting xenon headlamps to, a 115 bhp on a 2001 to be precise (pics etc to follow shortly).

I recently purchased a set of xenons off ebay, item number 4583071322, along with a 10-12 pin adaptor from a german site.

I did a trail run, plugging it in, and found the sidelights, full beam and indicator to work properly, but not the xenon bulb itself.

This i have determined is due to a certain four pin connector near the top of each headlamp not forming a complete circuit with the wirning (see second ebay pic - near the top of each headlamp).

Now looking at my headlamps and in reference to the member 'smn20-v-t ' i have determined that both headlamps do have the 'ballast' on either side (the silver box as shown in the ebay link pics). The only difference is that the headlamp which appears to be missing this vital box on the outside does in fact have it, only its mounted internally not in a silver metal box but behind the black plastic you take apart to look inside the lamps within a black plastic box. I have determined this by tracing the wires and noticing each side corresponds.

Now back to the four pin connector problem.

Basically, a simplified system ---- an earth and a live wire runs through the adaptor from the standard loom, into the silver 'ballast' box, then two grey wires run out of that box to form a circuit with the bulb.