Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first, sorry if these are abit dump questions as im not an ICE expert yet.

First, usually when you wire amp, you run the power cable down one side and the phono's down the side of the car. But if you want to amp all 6 speakers in your car, then you will have speaker cables and the power cable down the same side. WIll this cause any interference or is there a better way to do it?

cheers

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
also in an ideal world the rms of the speaker and amp should be the same. But will anything blow if the rms power of the speaker or amp is higher that the other?

·
Super Moderator
50,205 Posts
Running speaker and power cable next to each other won't be a problem,the noise can get in through the RCAs because they carry a signal that needs to be amplified thousands of times,therefore any noise will also be amplified as well.The level of signal down speaker wires is also many thousands of times greater than that of the noise,so run your speaker wires where ever you wish!

You can do more damage to a speaker by UNDERPOWERING it than you can by putting too much power into it.It is the dirty,distorted sound a small amp being driven into clipping that does the most damage the quickest.Any good speaker should be able to safely handle a certain amount past it's rated power for short periods providing it's fed with CLEAN undistorted power.You're better off using a large amp with the gain turned down than you are using a small amp with the gain turned up.The large amp will sound "cleaner",and will always have something in reserve,but the small amp will always have to work a lot harder because it's nearly always being run flat out,and will probably run a lot hotter and could draw more current.

·
Super Moderator
50,205 Posts