Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just built a new pc for someone and its got a SATA drive which i've never used before

well the BIOS detects it and the Maxtor Maxblast software can find it and set it up but when i put the windows disk in it copies loads of stuff and when you go to install windows it says it can't find a hard drive connected

any ideas?

·
Registered
4,528 Posts
you need the sata driver on a floppy disk, then when the XP install
starts from cd/dvd and says "" hit f8 to add aditional SCSI drivers" do
it hit f8 and push the floppy in the drive with the drivers in.

·
Registered
6,881 Posts
I did this just the other day mate! Make sure you have the floppy disk, if not, download the SATA drivers from the manufacturer website. On the first blue screen you get when installing XP, press F6, it will then copy a few files and then will ask you to insert the manufacturer disk. Depending on the disk there might be a few options, I used the VIA controller and all went lovely from there on in.

·
Registered
2,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks guys.

i just read as much from on the Maxtor site.

now i realise it wasn't such a great idea not to buy a floppy drive

·
Registered
6,626 Posts
I've never had to do the [F6] SCSI driver install procedure for SATA drives except for SATA RAID controllers. All the motherboards I've used have a function to make a SATA drive appear to the OS as another IDE device. In fact I've not had to do this more than three times - all builds I've done for the last 6-9 months installed straight onto SATA no problems. I use Gigabyte boards at work. What board are you using, Greenbeast?

·
Registered
6,626 Posts