Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right, I'm tearing my (already sparse!) hair out.

I can't find the diagnostics socket on my 2001 Passat TDI.

I've looked under the steering column (a la 2000 Skoda Octavia)

I've taken out bits of rubber trim by the handbrake (a la 2000 Passat TDI)

But I've no idea where the socket is on this model.

Someone help me 0 I've got a VAG-COM compatible cable and the shareware software on my laptop and it's no longer any use to me until I can foind the socket..........
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
if its in the same place as the golf - then its behind a small piece of trim at the bottom of the centre console. Under where the air con controls are.

Put your hand under there and give it a tug. (ooerr)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
only thing under my aircon panel is a GAMMA HU.

And i've already pulled out the trim in the cubby hole under that......nothing.

Where the hell could they have put it?

(probably in the spare tyre footwell, knowing my luck......)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
my bad. i'll check when i leave work soon.

Assume it will clip back in just fine too.

But, IIRC, the bit of trim directly above the ashtray in the Passat isn't tall enough for a VAG-COM cable.

I'll just have to check it later.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
I dont know the layout of the interior on the passat but its here on the Golf.... it curves underneath and the port is set back an inch or so - mounted horizontaly - I dont have the camera with me now, so Ive used a pic I already had.

Posted Image


Il keep looking on't tinternet for you....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Not there either I'm afraid........

Nothing behind the panel beneath the aircon/HU but a little bit of cloth and then bare metal. I stuck my hand all the way in and felt all around, not a sausage. TBH, it's barely big enough for my hand to slot in, no way a VAGCOM connecter would fit there.

Been under the pedal area. Can't feel anything anywhere. Spent ten minutes covering every square mil methodically.

I'll check again when it's light and hopefully driver. But fingers didn't revel any connector socket, not even a pieice of removeable trim panels, and unless it's hidden beneath a stick of NVH material (which I did feel through) I'm lost.

Damnit.

I'll try again in the morning. Thanks for everything so far guys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
It is located below the steering wheel.

Below the dash board is a cover reaching to the back of the pedals.

The socket is in line directly above the rubber part of the Break Pedal. It may have some felt covering it but it should part easily.

One possible problem could be that it has been pushed out of its holder. The socket is mounted on this cover. If this is the case try removing the cover and see if it is floating about in where all the relays are.

Get back if you need a pic.

Tom
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,247 Posts
i can also confirm it is located on the plastic just in front of the pedals.

Open the drivers door, get down on your knees and stick your head down near the pedals, then look up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
377 Posts
I went out to an 03 Passat a few days ago, tried everywhere to find the OBD port, I found where the hole for it was but no port, after we had removed most of the dash we found the port plugged into a telematics system behind the dash, you would not believe how many company cars are not getting this fitted.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Quote: posted by 02 Bora on 10/01/2005 09:22:46

Open the drivers door, get down on your knees and stick your head down near the pedals, then look up.

[:I]....ahh, "adopting the position" [:I]

Found it.

Now I discover my current cable won't work - laptop insists COM1 not accessible. And yes, it has previously worked just fine, albeit not on the VW.

Do the Passats of this era have dual K lines? my cable is labelled as a single K line version...............
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
This is a problem with the laptop most likly. Uninstall COM1 and re start the computer. It will find the port and reinstall it, then try the lead again.

Tom
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
excellent diganosis.

Think it might have been due to installation of ActiveSTINK for managing a GPS system (incidentally, tha'ts USB, so why ActiveSTINK took over COM1, i've no idea........)

So, next question - what are the symptoms of an error with "Soolant Fan 1" shorting to ground intermittently? Is there a relay in a fusebox that might randomly start ticking?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
377 Posts
Quote: posted by flynntech on 10/01/2005 12:22:40

What is a telematics system?

telematics are little black boxes that give assistance, navigation and advanced safety features for cars.

Also providing integrated electronics for the powertrain, chassis, sensors and interior controls.

In other words, a black box recorder for a car...
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top