Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
6,881 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My toilet seems to use ahell of a lot of water compared to others I have used when flushing.

I don't produce logs that need a 20 second flush!! I'm also on a water meter. Can I do something to stop it using so much water?

I was thinking of putting something in the tank so not as much water is filled. Then I had a genius idea, I could stop the ballcock thing from going so high. Can I just literally attach something to the side of the cistern that stops the ballcock thing rising further, and therefore using more water every fill?

Just wondering if this is going to have any knock on effects over time to the cistern?

I am new to all this DIY stuff!!

·
Registered
501 Posts
Get a strong plastic bag (like a bin liner) and fill it with some sand then tie it up securly. You can actually by stuff but essentially it's a plastic bag with sand in it!

·
Registered
3,956 Posts
If it's yellow, let it mellow,

If it's brown make it drown !

Think that was in the film meet the fockers ?

Also, lucky you. I'd say that they don't make toilets like they used to as I quire often need a double flush and in exceptional circumstances a treble. Used to fill up a big plant pot with water and horse the water from that down at the same time as a bit of a 'flush assist' !

·
Registered
4,528 Posts
be carefull ... if the drains to the house are old, they are more
restrictive and need more waterto force solids round corners and down
more shallow falls... ie new modern toilet with small wtare useage in
old buildings .. means blocked drains often.

i know i manage alot of old buildings.

·
Registered
1,396 Posts
Don't mess with the ballcock - the water has to be up to depth, before the cistern will flush. One house brick, sealed in a polly bag, will cut your consuption some, without leaving the odd anaconda staring at you.

·
Registered
6,881 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·