Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Times are hard and I'm a poor artist. My car has done 203K miles. I need to replace a leaky noisy water pump and have a few questions - is it possible to change out the water pump easily without faffing about with the whole timing kit? I know people will say that I should replace the whole lot for the minimal cost, but if the belt looks good and there are no other rattles or squeaks I don't see why I can't try to save a few quid and a bit of effort on what is an old banger (yet which could still do another couple of hundred thousand miles!!). Thoughts on best water pumps axial/ centrifugal and plastic vs metal impellor issue?

·
Registered
1,470 Posts
It's possible, anything is possible, but I don't see why you would only do the water pump.

A timing belt won't rattle or squeak, one day it'll either strip teeth and slip or just snap. Both resulting in catastrophic engine damage.

The labour cost is the expensive part, and is the same for both a timing belt job or a water pump job. Labour is likely 3 hours from an indie garage, at around £60-£80 an hour. Timing belt + water pump kits are around £100. Water pumps alone are around £30.

Total of around £270 for just a water pump replacement, or £340 for timing belt and water pump. Both prices are excluding antifreeze and any sundries required, and assuming your water pump is actually timing belt driven.

You haven't mentioned which car this is on, which would help.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's possible, anything is possible, but I don't see why you would only do the water pump.

A timing belt won't rattle or squeak, one day it'll either strip teeth and slip or just snap. Both resulting in catastrophic engine damage.