Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry about the ramblings but I couldn?t sit back without warning others of my experiences. -

I have now had my vw R line car bra in use for about 2 weeks and I thought I better warn other people who currently own an R-line car bra or are thinking about purchasing one.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p> </o:p>

First off I would just like to say that the build quality is top notch and in my opinion it looks great when fitted to the car.

<o:p> </o:p>

I have to admit that despite using my car as a daily driver I am fanatical about keeping it clean and always aim to wash it mid week and spend 3-4 hours cleaning and detailing it on a Sunday inside and out (I know its sad). After 3 days of use I carefully removed the bra for the first time prior to the mid week wash to find loads of road grime grit and water trapped under the bra but guessed this is to be expected. I washed the car as well as the car bra inside and out to remove dirt etc and refitted the following morning once dry. After I washed the car this weekend I have noticed hair line scuffs and scratches right the way along the bonnet that follows the exact contour of the top edge of the bra. Its clear that despite regular washing of both the bra and vehicle the dirt that is getting trapped beneath the bra is acting like sand paper, (despite the bra been fastened as tight as possible to avoid excessive movement!) . As far as I can tell this is unavoidable especially during this time of year[:(].

So to sum it all up the bra I thought I was buying to prevent paintwork damage is doing exactly the opposite!!!

I currently dont have the bra fitted and am now unsure what I should actually do with it[:|][:'(].

<o:p></o:p>

·
Premium Member
25,430 Posts