Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, im new to the vw diesel scene and was after some reccommendations and opinions as to my plans with my new car ive just purchased.

I have just purchased a mk4 golf se tdi 90 bhp model and was looking to up the power a little to around 115-125 bhp.

From a little research ive done i was planning to purchase a tuning box for the engine to up the power a little and a pipercross induction kit. Im not after silly power just a little more grunt as i have purchased the car for economy.

What sort of increase am i likely to see and is there any other mods i should consider? Few people have suggested injectors etc from the 110 model as essentially its a very similar engine. What would be the cheapest, most reliable way to my desired power gain?

any info,help gladly listen to and taken on board,

And please no slating for my lack of knowledge, im new to the forum and know very little about diesel tuning and best ways of gaining power with them. Ive come from a background of petrol fiestas and although improving the power on them is essentially a sililar ball game i understand the workings of a petrol engine alot more, the diesel knowledge is to come.

thanks in advance and im very impressed with your site!

andy

·
Registered
881 Posts
If you want just power gains don't waste your money on an induction kit as they wont increase your power hardly at all (Maybe 5bhp at a push) invest in a re-map, that will easily get you the power you want & as its a diesel you shouldnt loose too much of your MPG.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
but is remapping the cheapest way to the power im after as im not after groundbreaking figures, at least for the next year or two with this car

·
Old School UkMkivs Member
2,166 Posts
Hi again Andy,

The cheapest way to get the most bang per buck on a diesel is probably the tuning box route.