Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

This is my first post on UK-MKIV's - I've just jumped ship form BMW to VW and came across this great forum.

I've just bought a Golf 4 V5, reading through the articles I'm wondering if it would be benificial for me to buy a Vagcom reader/programmer to use with my car and a pc. I'm an electronic engineer and so am fairly proficient with stuff like this, and I'd love to have a play.

Questions are as follows:

1. Is this something I can just buy off ebay? Do I just need software and a cable?

2. Cable pin out - Is a special cable required?

3. What benifits would I get? What does it do?

4. Price for the kit?

5. Best place to get it from?

Thanks in advance.

Mark.

·
Registered
2,357 Posts
1.) You can buy a connector or eBay, though you would still need to purchase the software.

2.) Cable pin out and componets required if you would like to build your own are here and here

3.) VAGCOM allows you to do anything that a dealer can, reset service, diagnose faults etc, have a look here for more details, not not restricted to the Golf either, any thing in the VAG group.

4. Cables are around ?30-?60 depending on where you purchase from, the software is $99 USD to register.

5. Only get the software from Ross-Tech, as for the cable, either watch here for a GB or build your own from the links above.

·
Registered
606 Posts
Most aftermarket cables are only compatible with VAG-COM versions up to 311.2. No aftermarket cable works with version 500.0 or newer.

You can order the real thing -- a KEY-COM, which includes an embedded license -- for $229 direct from Ross-Tech. $229 is about ?120 these days.

-Uwe-

·
Registered
3,199 Posts
?120 is very decent value guys.......if you can't stretch your budget that far - split the cost with a Dub mate......easy!

·
Registered
172 Posts
Uwe, Are VAG-COM.co.uk affiliated to Ross-Tech? I don't see them on your Distributor List