Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right, I've been hanging around these parts for the last 8 months now, without much of a thread to myself. I've even been showing up to most of the meets like a good boy.

So I thought I would finally put up somewhere to update as things progress, as I feel like the car is in a position where is is structurally a pretty good base for my project.

Firstly, this is how the car stood when I picked it up:

Indigo blue 1999 plate 1.9 tdi 110bhp. remapped to around 145bhp and 295n/m.

135,000 miles.

decent paintwork, underneath a few scratches.

16" 4motion alloys, which still need to go!

It looked like this after a clean:

I didn't think it was too bad for £1700.

I then decided to get rid of the oh too shiny door handles and the ugly wood trim:

first for the textured carbon fibre vynil:

Then I used the sanding trick to get the brushed look on the door handles:

After these mods, I got a 4motion gear knob and some black octavia vrs alloys in 17"x7" from the good o-lethal-b.

Also, I have a set of 60mm shocks and springs to go on some time this week.

Then, I fitted some H.I.D's in 8000k

and some 7LED side lights, below is before and after with only the sides on.

I also debadged the front. But I have lost the fxxking plastic notch infill so I will have to wait for my bodyshop mate to weld it for me.

Today I put the flyeyeskit on the rear lights and the side repeaters. It was a bit rainy outside so I will have to wait to do the fronts another day because I just cba to drop the bumper to get the lights off and inside the house. I can however report that one kit is enough to do all the lights on the car, contrary to what i was told by others. Perhaps they changed the size of the kit. Either way, I think it looks the absolute dogs!!!

before:

After:

On the car:

(also showing the blue LED courtesy lights. I also changed the interior lights to LED items)