Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I Drive a 2000 Bora, Started out as a PD110 Sport, but the previous owner dropped in a PD150, allard EGR delete, Allard front mount intercooler, various other uprated bits and got it mapped hitting 202.3bhp.

He also upgraded the front brakes to 312mm (audi s3) brakes.

I have never been impressed with the responsiveness of the brakes, and recently a friend bout a Seat Leon Cupra with the same brakes on and his are much sharper, my problem is i'm not a mechanic, but I know my brakes aren't right and all mechanics seem to think they are fine, but to me there is definatly too mcuh travel int eh pedal and it is to soft. My friends cupra stops like an S3, just a gentle tap on the pedal and you stop on a penny.

I insisted my mechanic bleed the brakes up with fresh fluid, which he did, but there is no difference, which he expected, I think mechanics just look at a standard looking tdi bora and think well its got good enough brakes to stop, but these are uprated for a reason and don't show it.

My mechanic suggests leaving it as it is, I have had a few suggestions from buy a new master cylinder, to braided brake hoses, and new pads (my pads are fine though, got a few thousand miles left on them yet).

Where should I begin, If I could buy a new master cylinder and braided hoses and have both fitted and see my brakes operate as they should then I would be happy, but to buy both and see no difference I would understandably be miffed off.

I wonder if the PD110 master cylinder and servo are different and it needs a PD150 one ?

I read about the EGR valve being used to crate vaccume for the servo, my valve has been removed, could this be related? somewhere else i read the EGR valve doesn't do this and an electric vaccume pump is used instead.

any ideas ? any pointers ? Thanks.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·