Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this section and usually use the autoglym super resin then the gold one for a final shine. Ive looked at a few pics of golfs on here and the shine i s far better than the autoglym. Any ideas for a newcomer on how to get a nice deep shine on my golf ?

·
Registered
104 Posts
I used to use Autoglym, but I now use Meguiars NXT wax topped up with some P21S Carnauba Wax. Either wax will give you excellent results, particularly the P21S stuff [Y] and are much better than Autoglym IMO.

I use a claybar every now and then to remove the contaminants that washing can't remove and to keep the paintwork silky smooth [:)].

·
Registered
1,700 Posts
Swissol. Search on the forum for it.

Posted Image
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>

·
Registered
6,626 Posts
I am new to this section and usually use the autoglym super resin then the gold one for a final shine. Ive looked at a few pics of golfs on here and the shine i s far better than the autoglym. Any ideas for a newcomer on how to get a nice deep shine on my golf ?
What colour is your car? Dark colours, while being a pain to maintain and show up swirls more easily, give the deepest shine when properly treated.

·
Registered
6,626 Posts
P.S. If you have a lighter colour in particular, a clay bar treatment will make it visibly cleaner. I thought my Reflex Silver was quite clean but I saw more of the real colour after going over with a clay bar for the first time in four years. Finally, after all that hard work, nothing beats parking on a petrol station forecourt at night. Choose a relatively new station with very white forecourt lighting, and the depth of shine will amaze you! It's priceless.

·
Registered
3,596 Posts
It really depends on 2 issues mostly

1. How much do you want to spend.

2. The colour & condition of your paint.