Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an interesting dialema...

I work in telecoms as a design engineer, have dual reporting in the form of a line manager and a project team. I've been at my current company for 5 and three quarter years.

I've been reporting to my current line manager for over 18 months now and I've always found him to be belligerent, confrontational and generally unapproachable. He has failed to manage my work load when I have flagged potential issues and pretended they don't exist until the issues develop into problems and has asked why they were not flagged sooner. Also training isn't a problem until you ask for it and then, it's never denied, merely takes months to deal with any request and even then, it's not guaranteed.

I've worked with the project team for 4 or so years now and they're a great bunch of people, always having a laugh and generally look after one another.

I decided to start looking for a job back in August since my job is technology based and training is required to keep up with technology. Money was not my driver for looking, just the lack of training and the conflict of personalities with my line manager. I let the head of the project team know as a matter of courtesy that I was interviewing, given the long standing relationship.

The head of the project team has been raising concerns over me potentially leaving with some very senior people within the company and whilst this has been going on, my line manager has had someone installed between him and the guy he used to report to, which I would effectively deem a demotion. My understanding is that senior management want me to stay and the guy who's been installed above my line manager seems keen for me to stay in light of the exposure that his superiors have had to my situation of wanting to leave.