Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Just wondering if anyone knows the rules and such for making your own service stamp
I am a fully qualified BMW technician and just wanted to know if I'm allowed to make my own stamp for side jobs?
Didnt know if it was ligit to do that??

Cheers. Lee

·
Registered
927 Posts
has google not been any help?

i think it may depend on what the stamp actually has on it

i dont think it's right (even morally) to have a business type stamp if its not directly connected to a business

if you carry out work on a car as a side job, what kind of legitimate warranty can you give? anyone having work done will have your stamp as proof of work carried out

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Google didn't help, I don't want it to look like a business just want it to say my name and my number
As proof a car has been serviced by someone who has the qualification to do so? I don't need to supply any kind of warranties of work
carried out unless I specify a warranty surely?

·
Livin' by the sword
5,180 Posts
You can have a stamp made up by all means I would've thought. Just the same as you can fill in the service book with pen (or crayon if you're a Seat technician from what used to be Penmans in Darlo [:p] ) but it's not something that carries any weight really. What it will do is leave proof of your activity for whoever checks the service book next, and that may lead to someone checking with the tax man about where your earnings come from. It depends how much attention you want to draw to yourself.

If you declare all your earnings, have liability insurance, and are using the stamp as a means of advertising or creating a good impression for the customer then it's always a good idea. If you just want to make a few quid and keep it quiet, then I'd use a pen. Or a Crayon.

·
Registered
1,827 Posts