Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Me and the missus are considering saving up over the next few years for a sporty 'weekend' car and we were looking at what options available.

I know a lot of you guys fancy the GTI and R32 which I understand to both be nice cars.

Similarly a Audi TT or Porche Boxter/ Lotus Elise might do the trick.

However, for around ?15,000, I could get myself a 1999 4 litre, V8, Supercharged Jaguar KXR with leather seats and a few other nice extras. I know the insurance would be a bit pricey, but surely the R32 insurance wouldnt be much better. I could save some money and got for a convertable XK8 (non-supercharged) with cheaper insurance but still looks really special.

So a Jaguar XKR costs around ?15,000 and a golf R32 with leathers etc costs how much? ?25k?

I'm new to the performance cars but can anyone tell me why I sould save an extra ?10,000 and look at a sporty golf over a Jag? Am i missing something here?

Again, I dont want to upset anyone and I love the GTI/R32, but after looking at the alternatives I really fance these sporty Jags!!!

What am I missing?

Matt.

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Again, i'm totally new to real performance cars.

I really like the look of the M3/M5 beamers (my dream car would be the new M5 but it costs the world!)

I am finding myself falling in love with the XK8/XKR though.

Do they drive like lemons or something? I have heard that they dont like to be driven fast are are more designed for cruising.

Has anyone driven one?

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
You'd be buying a 6 year old car with no warrenty and potentially huge repair bills if something goes wrong. Not to mention the fact that the servicing costs on the jag arent going to be cheap and also because its second hand, you'll have no idea as to how it been driven for the previous 60,000 miles.