Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Decided to go for 17" alloys and 30mm drop (Eibach springs). Compromised on the size of the wheels and the drop as I was concerned about ride quality.

Anyway been driving the golf for a few months. Handling is now so much better although I feel more of the road. Something I could live with

My mate was sitting at the back and he wasn't impressed with the ride quality . (went over some rough roads) ((thud,)). I did feel it but he felt it more

Now is this due to the

Bushes at the rear

Or is it the weight issues . Engine is at the front so keep the car down and the fact that the golf is light at the back therefore the rear responds more

I am no mechanic so I would appreciate your help

Is there anything i can do to get some comfort back

thanks

ps nothing to do with this but got my car superchipped [:D]

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cue Sonny [:p]
Cheers for that [:p]

Don't know much about Sonny

Apart from the fact that if you left Sonny with standard golf, you wouldn't find it looking the same the next day[;)]

·
Registered
2,379 Posts
Cue Sonny [:p]
Thought my ears were burning, I've dropped my car 50mm and even the
rough roads aren't that bad and the passengers never complain, but they
complain when I go over speed bumps at 25 mph when there head go bump
off the roof. lol.

Sonny

·
Registered
942 Posts
Sounds like your rear axel bushes might be shot, mine is lowered 30mm on 17's and it is fine, the only other thing it could  be is if your shcks are knackerd.

·
Registered
540 Posts
Sounds like your rear axel bushes might be shot, mine is lowered 30mm on 17's and it is fine, the only other thing it could be is if your shcks are knackerd.
Totally agree, mine's running the same setup and regularly have 2 in the back with no complaints or thuds.

How many miles has it done? only got 25k on mine.

R

·
Registered
64 Posts