Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having bought a set of Osram silverstars I understand that the best way to fit them is to remove the front bumper so you get to the headlight unit. I've printed off the "how to remove the bumper" guide but I was wondering if anyone who has actually done this can suggest any tips or problems to look out for. I'm not a mechanic so before I start pulling my pride and joy to bits any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys. [:)]

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
make sure you have the right tools for the job. Torx screws etc etc. Its fairly basic and that guide i posted up is pretty good. Should only take 20-30 mins to take it all off. Just be carefull that once all the fixings are off the bumper that the bumper doesnt fall off the car and damaged its paintwork on the floor if it decides to do a suicide jump!

But really, you WONT need to take the bumper off to fit the H7 bulbs. I did mine 1st time in less than 10 mins. Try that way first.

·
Registered
2,259 Posts
removing the bumper is dead as easy. If you do decide to do it make sure you have an old sleeping bag or something in front of the car to lay it on. Removal/fitting of the bumper is a 2 minute job.

But as Mike's just said you should be able to get the bulbs in without removing the bumper, itis fiddley but do able. I've got big plates for hands and I amanged.

J.

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, the H7's are in without removing the bumper but fitting the main beam H1's looks tricky stuff. Just waiting for darkness to fall then its play time. [:)]

·
Registered
4,190 Posts
THE BULBS ARE mega TRICKY..........when i was fitting the main beams, the retaining clip fell off......no chance of putting that back!!...stealers it is!

·
Registered
29 Posts
Is it really neccessary to remove front bumper?