Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
458 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in two minds about re-maps. I'm not a mechanic, or a software engineer, so... feel free to correct me. :)

On one hand, people rave about taking the 130 PD up to 180hp (or there abouts) with a *Insert Company Name Here* remap. From what I gather, it's a generic 'map' that they use and they flash your ECU with it.

Drive in, plug in, drive out.

Now, I hear from other (vastly more experienced, than I) people that ideally, a re-map should follow other modifications such as an upgraded turbo, IC, internals, etc... to get the fuel/air mixture correct for given RPM and all that sort of stuff.

These brain-boxes also tell me that, basically, a generic map just increases the fueling and turbo PSI giving you One-Hundred-And-Whatever Horse-power with no thought on the state of the engine, internals, clutch, etc...

So, what's your opinions or thoughts on generic re-maps?

I love the idea of drive-in-drive-out-swipe-your-debit-card-and-here's-50hp-thank-you-very-much remaps, but are they really any good for your engine, driving-style and all those other important considerations?

I, for example, will do 35,000 miles a year. Economy at 60-70mph is my thing. If someone could sell me a 7th gear for my TDI I'd snap their arm off. If I go along with the garages bumf, they claim better economy and more power... So would £400 be worth a generic re-map that will boost my power and save me fuel when I'm cruising at 2,000 RPM for 6 hours at a time?

And, what's the point in a £400 generic re-map, if you can get these on eBay for £90? What's the real difference?

·
Registered
7,359 Posts
the problem you have is there is also a massive degree of difference between 'generic maps' yes some just do boost, while others go into fuel,timing, throttle etc