Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using Norton antivirus and firewall for a few years now, cos I've always thought it was a recommended one to use (for quality and level of protection), if a bit of a system hog!

My subscription ran out a while ago, but at the same time, BT (my broadband provider) provide me with Norton AV an FW for free, as part of the broadband package, so I downloaded and installed that.

Been working fine for a couple of months, but a few days ago it said "service cancelled by BT". So, a 40-minute phone call and 2 days later, they call me back, say its sorted at their end, and to re-install it.

Done that, but now just won't activate, so is still not working.

If they dont sort it soon, to hell with it, I'll have to just buy one, as I use my PC and the internet a lot, and don't like being unprotected.

What are recommendations.....

Buy a retail Norton pack, buy a different retail pack, or what online free things are out there that are as good, if any??

I know Norton can be a system hog, but I'd rather run a bit slower and be safer if it's better or more secure than one that lets the PC run faster; for me, the security/protection quality is the main issue over speed.

·
Registered
186 Posts
i use AVG antivirus and Zonealarm - both are free for personal use and have been fine over the years I've used them

·
Registered
654 Posts
I wouldn't use Norton AV or firewall protection if you paid me.

"AVG" or, "Avast!" are good software AV, I use a hardware firewall so cannot comment on software firewalls. I remember using Kerio some time ago...

·
Registered
1,120 Posts
Best combo IMHO, the one I've used and recommended for the past 5(ish) years,

Zonealarm, (good, and easy to understand unlike some of the others)

AVG antivirus (Though Avast gets good words too, I've no personal exp.)

Spybot S&D anitspyware.
Best of all, that lot won't cost you a penny.

·
Registered