Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all....

had he AA out today to diagnose my misfirings.... fault showing are misfire on cylinder 5. when i had it serviced 4 weeks ago they couldnt remove a spark plug without taking the head off so left it in at my discretion.

i have an AA parts cover and as they dont cover service items such as plugs/leads, he has put me down for a new coil pack for the sake of it. the AA will shell out for this to be bought and fitted at a garage of my choice for the £25 admin fee but he has said that ill need to replace the plug that is dead on cylinder 5 maybe the leads aswell.

where i m going with this is id like to know what a realistic price would be for an indi garage to remove the head in order to replace the spark plug and how much ht leads are and decent spark plugs?

i am also new to hertfordshire and need a garage, am willing to travel on good recommendations but need to know it will be sorted.

any help would be much appreciated and if any of you think you can fix this or have done in the past, i am happy to sort you out obviously.

cheers people, have a good new years....

·
Registered
379 Posts
Head off to do spark plugs?! I'm surprised that's the case on a V6 4mo engine, I could replace all of the plugs on my mk3 VR6, back in the day, I did however make a tubular tool out of aluminium to get the leads off without damaging them first.

Can anyone confirm if spark plugs on a V6 4mo really are a head off job, for any of the cylinders?

·
London Refurbs'
5,615 Posts
The head doesnt need to be removed to remove the spark plugs. Theres must be a problem if it does, maybe the plug is seized or has maybe even snapped or the threads may have been stripped.

Peter

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·