Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,500 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know if the Phatnoise MP3 system is going to be available to US Europeans or is this going to remain a US only thing?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
102 Posts
i saw a leaflet in my local vw dealer the other week, i asked the service bloke about it and he knew absolutely nothing about it !!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
740 Posts
VW will charge you ?6-700 for a Phatnoise and installation. If you really want one look on eBay and get one from the US for under ?300.
 

·
BORA owner!!!!!!
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Have a look at this link, and be amazed at the NEW price :

http://volkswagen.autowebaccessories.com/store/prod318_339_5201.php

problem, is you need a friend in the USA to buy it for you, then pay customs and duty on it but all in all i think youd be looking at ?300, not bad, the phatnoise is basically a kenwood music keg, i think it was kenwood who made the shell and electronics, and then phatnoise bought it from them, to use in other cars as an OEM addition, the music keg brand new is a available for ?220 over here in the U.K, but i dont know how or if you will be able to download the software to it to make it work with the vw head units, I,m trying to get a phatnoise from the US , and will keep you posted of how its going or if indeed i get one, with the brackets to mount it in the boot, i want to run it from my version G satnav.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
740 Posts
Its the other way round [;)] Kenwood licenced the technology from Phatnoise who originally developed it. ?300 sounds about right. You can get bigger drives, upto 80gb.
 

·
BORA owner!!!!!!
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Quote: posted by KuniD on 04/11/2004 18:34:01

Its the other way round [;)] Kenwood licenced the technology from Phatnoise who originally developed it. ?300 sounds about right. You can get bigger drives, upto 80gb.

oops [:I]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
740 Posts
I'm planning to do the same thing hz2921. I want to hook up a Phatnoise to a SatNav MFD2, then get a 6 disk dvdchanger and hook that up through the AV input using a Dietz 1212 [:D]

Gotta get the SatNav first though [:(]
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
4,570 Posts
no probs with MFD G and Phatnoise folks - installed on a few cars

only downside is I HAVE STEVEN HAWKINS TALKING THROUGH MY SPEAKERS !!!
 

·
BORA owner!!!!!!
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Ram , have you got the phatnoise working in your car?, no skipping issues or anything like that?, will probably wire mine in today to see how it works, if i get time , and it isnt snowing!!!!!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
740 Posts
Quote: posted by simfin on 19/12/2004 10:14:49

with one of the Phatnoise units - do you get to see the MP3 info on the headunit? artist,album etc

Unfortunately not [:(] It tells you the track name in a robot voice. You can also buy a voice control unit for it, so you can say the name of the track, and it'll try to play it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts
Oh I see.

Not sure that is an option then - Back to plan A = Alpine headunit with an ipod adapter. That way get to search and view all the MP3 information through the head unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,200 Posts
Be careful with the Phatnoise, It has a known problem in VW's where you get a bad 'whine' that is electrical interference.

I had a phatnoise and got rid of it for this reason!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,200 Posts
Quote: posted by R44MS_K on 20/12/2004 12:57:40

you can create a playlist which does make it easier...

there is a fix for the whine...

I'd be interested to hear what it is, When i had mine theonly solution was ferrile clamps which were not ideal and didn't eliminate it completely.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top