Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI PEOPLE

IM NEW TO ALL THIS SO I WAS WONDERING IF U EXPERIENCED PEOPLE COULD HELP ME OUT:

CURRENTLY STUCK IN A DILEMMA, OWN A BLACK MK4 1.9 TDI GOLF.. NO ORDINARY ONE HOWEVER.. ITZ CLOCKED 170,000 MILES!

i was swinging towards the 18" a8z, but where could i get the ones that are made in italy? i have looked at the package on rochford tyres are their alloys from italy?

i havnt a clue about suspension, what exactly would i need to do lower my car? i take it ill have to replace all dampers, bushes, shocks the whole lot? what suspension kits do u lot recommend and how much does it cost incl. labour and all?

i am doing currently around 350ish miles a week, so what tyres would be appropriate to go with alloys? i was told that the toyes proxies t1-r last around 40k is this true?

budget 1000 quid max!

thanks people

adz

·
Registered
40 Posts
I'm not 100% sure which wheels these are but you need tryes which have got a very good wear rate as your doing such high mileage. At the same time they need to have good grip in the wet and dry.

Toyo Proxes tend to be very very good and they aren't too expensive either.

As for suspension, alot of people tell you that you must get springs and shocks, some say go coilovers. You need to decide what your needs are.

If your just doing it for the looks and want a comfortable ride with slightly better handling then a set of good H&R or Eibach springs are the way forward. Don't go lower than 35mm with standard shocks though.

If you want significantly better handling then a Springs and Shock setup like the H&R Cup kits or Koni's are the way to go. The lower kits also come with shortened shocks to reduce the amount of suspension travel. The ride gets harder generally, all depends which setup you go for.

If you want to adjust the height from time to time and have the best handling then it's coilovers and expect a harsh ride.