Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Basically i'm looking for some imaging/cloning software that will make the roll out of laptops simpler.

whereby i can set one up just how i want it and then make all the rest the same.

·
Registered
2,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yeah i am aware of norton but didn't knwo if it could utilise the network, i have since discovered it can but i'm now trying to find out if it can do multi-casting

and if i can just buy the normal version, i've got a feeling i'll need something more expensive

·
Registered
1,120 Posts
There's a version that can do this, but it's not the cheap "personal" one.

Buy it anyway, it'll save you a fortune!

·
Registered
146 Posts
I'm an IT Manager in a secondary school, and we use Ghost fairly regularly. Saves so much time, especially when you have to add new software and deploy a new build. I guess it depends how many machines you have. We have over 200 now so its absolutely essential we have a deployment tool. Makes it easy to deploy new hardware, and also deploy spare units if you don't have time to carry out repairs or order parts.

·
Registered
2,788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
well this is the thing, for us (also a secondary school - girls grammar), its only for about 50-60 laptops because all of our desktops are rebuilt using an unattended RM network solution

so i'm not sure it'd really be worth it for the odd thing a few times a year, what i meanis i'd loive to have it but the finance department and senior management won't wanna spend £££ on software that isn't even for the curriculum

·
Registered
207 Posts