Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI guys - newbie here

Im thikning of buying a MKV 1.6FSi 3dr SE in black with optional 16" Hockenheim alloys and 3 spoke leather steering wheel and gear knob.

Basically im looking for feedback from owners - what can I expect?

Is the 1.6 FSI powerfull enough for some fun? Is the handling really as good as some of teh review state. and what kind of performance figures are you getting, as VW seem to ne quite conservative when posting claimed figures.

I currently have a Honda Civic sport 1.6, the ride it too harsh and its too noisy on the motorway due to gearinf - 80mph is over 4k RPM - does the 6 spd box give good m'way cruising speed?

ANY FEEDBACK much appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
Quote: posted by danwuk on 26/12/2004 12:50:35

HI guys - newbie here

Im thikning of buying a MKV 1.6FSi 3dr SE in black with optional 16" Hockenheim alloys and 3 spoke leather steering wheel and gear knob.

Basically im looking for feedback from owners - what can I expect?

Is the 1.6 FSI powerfull enough for some fun? Is the handling really as good as some of teh review state. and what kind of performance figures are you getting, as VW seem to ne quite conservative when posting claimed figures.

I currently have a Honda Civic sport 1.6, the ride it too harsh and its too noisy on the motorway due to gearinf - 80mph is over 4k RPM - does the 6 spd box give good m'way cruising speed?

ANY FEEDBACK much appreciated. Thanks

Depends whether you're a boy racer or not, I suppose. I have a 1.6FSI SE and it's not harsh at all - perhaps it is too new yet. 6th gear is quite high compared with cars I have previously owned. From my calculations, this gear gives 24.5mph/1000rpm and so at 80mph you should feel a lot more relaxed. Whether there is sufficient power/torque to sustain this speed up inclines etc. remains to be seen.