Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
[:mad:]

Do not understand how it happened at all maybe someone can shed some light on it?

I parked at wexham park hosp, as my boy Jack was born yesterday, I guess its the good karma bad karma thing

I came back to my car last night to find all the windows open??????????/

the lock and the blue part of the handle around the lock was hanging from the door, a small scratch above and another on the handle where they had levered it out no damage to the lock, just popped it back in.

they took my kenwood searched the car for the face which was wedged up under the dash, my fault i know but left my Ipod and adapter, maybe got disturbed.

but how did they open my windows and what happens when you take the lock out, i can'teven open my windows with the key fob.

part 2, should I report it I can't see the point, i'm a cop and know there aren't really any leads to follow up no suspects no cctv etc etc. whats the point they wont do anything

anyone got a kenwood ipod adapter suitable headunit for sale? long shot I know

·
Registered
310 Posts
i feel for you mate, its not nice thinking someone has gone through your stuff.

i'm often in slough for work so i'll have to watch where i park

·
Registered
586 Posts
but how did they open my windows and what happens when you take the lock out, i can'teven open my windows with the key fob.
This is a known security flaw on the MkIV I believe. You could do a search or someone will pm you with the details. De-locking the car is a relatively simple way to get around this.

Sorry to hear about it mate.

Probably best to report it, if for nothing else then just for their records. I suppose its not worth it for them to dust for prints?

·
Super Moderator
8,768 Posts