Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
There is an alternative if you have a CD changer and want to use that too. I did it.

trying to find the link! its on votex.

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
no, no and no!

it doesnt work! I have one of these cables in my drawer at home which i bought on the off chance! Gone for the Dension ICE link+ now!

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Oxford - Is that the one with the switch in the ash tray? If so how hard was it to put in? I'm not too good at fettling with the wiring!

PaulGT - I was trying to avoid getting the Dension as it's a bit pricey for what is essentially just a lead. I know you can control the iPod from the HU and it charges it but there must be a way of doing the whole install cheaper and without cutting into the wiring looms.

I've been looking on iPod lounge for some inspiration but most of the installs there are on Yank cars and I think they have a different HU to the European ones - anyone advise?

Found this on eBay as well - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=60208&item=5758005079&rd=1&ssPageName=WD2V but not if it'll fit the Gamma radio.

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
right, the sound does make it to the headunit and it does connect, but, as there is no controller or anything the headunit doesnt pick up the signal and will therefore no switch to the changer!

My Dension didnt work this morning! ggrr, think it was because i deleted the file that tells it its a VW headunit! bum! Trying to upgrade to v2.06 firmware too!

·
Registered
371 Posts
right ok cheers paul! seems like these people need to redesign their lead!

i have a button on my single in dash cd player which changes from single cd player to cd changer, is this how u worked it or did u do it through the actual h/u?

·
Registered
1,315 Posts
Quote: posted by MattC3156 on 15/03/2005 16:01:54