Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am on an extremely stretched budget, considering i am a student.I recently fitted 18" RS4's onto my golf mk4 1.4s 99 S reg. It has done 60,000 mile and surprise surprise, it is sitting quite high!, so i wanted to get the car lowered.

My budget can only stretch another ?100, so that will only qualify for gmax lowering springs. I cannot afford the coil over kit though.

Will buying the gmax lowering springs alone not be good enough to lower my car by 40mm at a satisfactory level??

You must understand I know coilovers do make more financial sense, but what can I do when I dont have the dollar!

Cheers for you help

Adil

·
Registered
6,626 Posts
I don't know your full situation but I'd get a summer job and save for a proper lowering kit with matched shocks. Cost less than coilovers, guaranteed to perform better than lowering springs alone.

·
Registered
2,969 Posts
go for some H&R -50mm springs.
You can't go lower than 40mm on the mkiv without replacing the front ARB otherwise your suspension will hit the driveshaft.

Take a look thru the classifieds or Ebay a you should find some springs well under budget

·
Registered
836 Posts
go for some H&R -50mm springs.
You can't go lower than 40mm on the mkiv without replacing the front ARB otherwise your suspension will hit the driveshaft.

Take a look thru the classifieds or Ebay a you should find some springs well under budget
He'll be alright with a 1.4 I think.

·
Registered
2,634 Posts
Ask yourself, where's the money going to come from to change the shocks in 6 months time when they're knackered from the lowered springs.....

Personally I would always change springs and shocks at the same time especially when lowering. When you could fit Eibach springs and Bilstein shocks for about ?400 why bother with cheap stuff for ?100?