Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, after a bit of help please.I've got a Golf 1.8T GTi 150bhp (standard model, no mods) which I've had just over 3 months and going great, my first VW. I've been thinking of increasing the bhp but have no idea how to go about this as I'm totally new to all this. Whats re-mapping and chips? Where could I get this done (local VW dealer)? How much does it all cost? I know some of the other 1.8T's have 180bhp and would like to increase to this or maybe a bit more.

Any information, advice and help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
im not to clever on the re-mapp etc but 1 bit of advice! save a hell of a lot of money and stay away from vw dealers except for servicing!

·
Registered
931 Posts
revo, custom code, jabba sport all do remaps. wil increse power to about 200bhp.

could allways go big turbo route, 300+bhp [;)]

have a search on here, theres loads of help

·
Registered
34 Posts
Hi mate

as you have an agu engine code with a k03 turbo you are limited to about 190-200bhp with a remap, where as the later models had a k03 sport turbo which can handle more boost and so give bigger hp gains.

westec performance in newport can remap your car with the revo code which will give about 190 bhp for about ?350 + vat

cheers

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi there, thanks for all the advice. Regarding the Engine code, I dont know what mine is?? When I signed up on here it gave me a few choices of 1.8T GTi, AGU, AUM etc, so I just clicked on the AGU??? How can I tell what mine is? Sorry I'm quite new to all this.

Thanks,

·
Registered
34 Posts
sorry mate, it should tell you your engine code on the sticker either in the boot by the spare wheel, or on the first page of your service book

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·