Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bought a one of these off a lad on the forum.

I used it today for the first time. I used it with ssr2.

After I had used it, then waxed afterwards, The swirl marks and scratches actually look worse than before? looks like I have brought the surface of the clearcoat up to more of a shine, but the scratches can be seen more clearly?

So, do I buy ssr2.5, or do I go for something different?

I used the DAS green pad with the ssr2.

Also, how long are you supposed to use it on one panel before you run the risk of burning the paint?

Any help would be much appreciated, as I forked out quite a bit for this bit of kit, and I am sick of my car looking like its been attacked with a brillo pad!

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
I have no experiences with a PC but read great things about them.

Most users use the following products.....

Removing swirls...
SSR2.5 or Meguiars Dual Action Cleaner Polish

After....
Meguiars Speed Glaze

Browse thru http://www.detailingworld.co.uk Lots of info about PCs

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I thought it was ssr2.5 I had, but it says ssr2 on the bottle.

Its a dark blue coloured stuff.

what colour is the 2.5?

whats the megs cleaner polish stuff for?

·
Registered
285 Posts
The SSR 2.5 is a pale purple/violet colour.

The only problem I have ever found is actually getting the stuff off afterwards because the polishing buffer pad (the slip on microfibre things) just can't seem to remove it and get clogged up almost instantly.

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Just ordered some ssr2.5, hopefully that will get rid of the brillo pad effect. I think they used my car on that advert a couple of years ago!

Thanks for the info and links, learnt a few things[:D]

·
Premium Member
25,430 Posts