Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Touran Taxi
577 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At the moment all I have is a cheap socket set with half the bits missing and a cheap screwdriver set from lidl's, although it does have all the TORX bits you could ever want.

I'm thinking about getting this one from halfords. At half price is it a good deal? Are the bits included bits that will be needed with my MK4 golf?

·
Like A Bawwsss
25,247 Posts

·
Touran Taxi
577 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I don't have £100 to spend on tools tho, especially one's i may only use a few times a year. I'm no professional mechanic etc so I think that kit is a bit much for what I will use it for. No plans to drain gearbox oil myself and not confident enough to play around with my brakes lol!!

Just looking for a set for the basics really. When I tinker about with important bits something usually goes wrong [doh]

·
Touran Taxi
577 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I know it ain't a lot cos my girlfriends dad works for mercedes has has some really expensive tools! I'm just on a budget and want the best value I can get for the price I can pay. Seeing as I'm going to have to spend a bit more then first planned I'm gunna have to wait till payday and get a better, more expensive set I think.

Even tho at the moment I only wish to do the odd bits here and there one day I may fancy tackling something big and adventurous so a set that will last may be a better purchase.

·
I ate a big red candle !!
10,384 Posts
With tools i find you get what you pay for so its always worth paying that little bit more for something decent.

·
Registered
106 Posts
also if you can blag a tradecard i got mine for about £75

your suppose to show proof of bein in the trade, which i am, they asked i said yeah got my payslip in my pocket but they never acutally looked at it

·
Banned
7,104 Posts