Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2,174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When you park it on a hill, PLEASE leave it in gear!

As some of you know I work as a Paramedic, and our latest lot of ambulances are Renault Masters because the Fords that we've used for years no longer provide the requirements we need. We've had the Renaults for about 2 years now and the oldest ones we have are on an 03 plate.

We have lots of electrical equipment on board and the batteries kept going flat so we were told to leave the engines running at the scene of a job, and to plug them into the charging lead when on station.

A few weeks ago though we had a memo come round saying that there had been "several incidents" of the ambulances rolling when parked on a hill and when hill-parking we were to turn the ignition off and leave it in gear even though we run the risk of a flat battery.

Old muggins here forgot about that memo and parked it on a hill with the ignition off (yes, I know I ignored the instructions to leave it running too!). We were in the patient's house for approximately 5 mins when somebody said "your ambulance is rolling"[:O]. Well, I've never sprinted so fast in my life before. I just saw the ambulance rolling backwards down the hill with a car coming up the hill and it was going across the road towards some houses[:O]. I had to sprint down a grass bank and hurdle over a metal pole then dashed into the middle of the road after the ambulance. Luckily the keys were to hand it I managed to unlock it, jump in and stop it and park it up again.

I've learnt my lesson though. Whenever I park on a hill or slope in the future I will be leaving it in gear whether I'm in the ambulance or my car. Unfortunately it was early Saturday evening so there were quite a few people about and a load of kids on bikes who were watching every bit of it![:$]