Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,903 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok peeps[:)]

I have never driven/owned a Derve before so total newbee to the Dark side! I wish to be taught the ways of the sith!

I'm viewing/test driving three PD130's this weekend, what are the things I should look out for? are they quite noisy on start up and tend to quiet down after a while??

Think i'll be ok on the interior side of things, just the engine, running etc.

I under stand that the 130's have 15" boots and handle like a R32 (yeah right!!) i mean a boat!

After discussions with The Sith Lords (all you guys with TDI's) I have got a good idea of mods which will be carried out so thats cool!

·
Registered
125 Posts
right.... from the experience i had with mine!!! take it on dual
carriage way.... hold it at 70 in 6th gear for a mile at least then
drop it to 5th and floor it whilst possibly going up hill if you can or
slight incline!!! let the revs build and build going up to about 90
mph!!! if there is no loss of power and the turbos is pulling and
pulling your turbo should be fine, mine wasnt and i didnt spot this
till a week or two after buying it which ended up in a ?1500 repair
bill with Vw that was thankfully done under warranty!!! phew!!!

other than that check the rear wash jet aint leaking, erm flat spots when accelarating between 2-3000 rpm

oh and it will wallow like a boat yes!!! but save you in mpg!!! good luck with the test drive!!!

scott

·
Registered
2,634 Posts
Ok peeps[:)]

I have never driven/owned a Derve before so total newbee to the Dark side! I wish to be taught the ways of the sith!

I'm viewing/test driving three PD130's this weekend, what are the things I should look out for? are they quite noisy on start up and tend to quiet down after a while?? Yes - but you do get used to it fairly quickly too

Think i'll be ok on the interior side of things, just the engine, running etc.