Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
4,528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here Clicky

Need to get it if your on one ... if your still using IE get rid now.... Firefox 2s inline spell checket works ace on the forum... and when opeing new windows they open in a new tab automatically...

Oh and you can close the browser and re-open with all tabs saved...

BIN IE it really is so old and rubbish

·
Registered
4,528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Even though I wrote checket instead of checker.... and yes the spell checker is awesome...

Gonna bump this till you all convert[6][;)][:mad:][8-|]

·
Registered
602 Posts
I've just downloaded it after reading this thread and to me it seems slower than IE on this site.

Can someone please point out the benefits to a complete newb to firefox........ other than the spell check which seems ace [:)]

·
Registered
4,528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
tabbed browsing, lack of exploits and popups (no spyware in 14 months of use...) easy to clean history... not funding Bill.... nicr interface?

feature requestes followed up?

I could go on .. the reason its slower is probably a lower spec machine and opening new windows as against tabs for new pages

·
Registered
602 Posts
Hmm it does look nicer and bill has enough wedge as it is.

My machine is fairly old think its an Atholon (that aint in the spell check[:p])1.4 but it does have 1gig of ram, is this too low a spec to run firefox at a resonable speed?

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
seems very similar to the old firefox, except the icons look more up to date!

got to say though, i'm totally converted to firefox! way better than IE in every way, except some compatability issues!! See there are add-ons available already! some dont work though!

·
Registered
188 Posts
Been using this for a year or so now, if you don't use it then get it...

and if you already have it then have a look at the add-ons you can get...