Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

Being a newbie I've not had had my TDI 100 long! All ready been tinkering around with a few bits and bobs... I.e lowered it in on Eibach springs <the oem shocks seem to be handling them fine for now>, what a difference they've made! Also activated a few settings in VAG-COM....

Final thing to do is a re-map... Stealthracing here we come... <as and when funds allow!>

Anyway so yes just wondered if its dangerous turning ESP off, can it be used for more 'spirited' approach to driving when its safe to do so? Or does it make it easier to lose control of the vechile with it off? (In which case I won't touch it!)

Cheers

PS Am after a single VW drivers mat oddly enough?! Don't really want to shell out for a complete set so if anyone knows or has a spare one, let me know! [:D]

·
Registered
501 Posts
Is it ESP or ASR?

ESP is like stability control and I'd leave it switched on

... but ASR (what I had) is just traction control and I used to turn it off as it would bog the car down on a spirited drive.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Its ESP mate, arr ok I'll leave it on then!

Hmm Mat I remember you from my ealry years when I had a MK GTI Non Turbo!!! Remember me?! [:p]

I've returned - In Diesel form! LOL!

·
Registered
8,220 Posts
i try to keep mine off as much as i can, its a much better ride

stick to a certain mph and then turn it off, you can feel the difference straight away

i have esp though

·
Registered
501 Posts
I thought it might be!! Yes I do remember, didn't we meet up at inters a few years ago?

I think I still have you on my messenger!! How's it going?

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Really? Cool ok I'll turn it off and see what effect it has, as long as its safe to do so been a bit scared to!