Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
452 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, im planning to give my engine a clean at the weekend, but am a little unsure about covering the electrical parts. Could someone help me out?

I have a pic of the engine here. I know its not THAT dirty, but i'd like to give it a clean as i've never tried engine detailing before, plus its due a service soon.

Posted Image

I have some AG engine and machine cleaner and some poorboys trim restorer for the plastics and rubber parts.

Thanks in advance,

David.

·
Registered
2,103 Posts
When cold, spray with the AG engine cleaner and allow to do its job for about five mins.

Next with an old paintbrush or similar agitate all the dirty parts to loosen the built up crud.

Rinse with an open hose, no high pressue stuff here because its petrol etc etc!

Now with a big warm bucket of water and car wash shampoo clean the entire engine bay using half an old car sponge. Really try and get your hand everywhere, and rinse again. Should anywhere remain dirty use the AG engine cleaner on it.

Perhaps drive around the block to drain all the water out and apply dressing, and wax the painted parts.

P.S. Poorboys; good chioce sir!

·
Registered
452 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Gary for the speedy reply, very helpful info too. So you wouldn't cover any parts with foil or plastic bags? I dont really know all the parts of the engine, so im a bit worried i might get some of the electrical components too wet and cause some damage.

Also, i've read about people doing it with the engine running?

Yeah, Poorboys is top stuff! (As im sure you know!) I cant fault there products, and they all have there own special, delicious smell! lol

Thanks again.

·
Registered
2,103 Posts