Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Planning on heading over to LA week before Xmas for the D1GP All Stars battle (the Brits are going)

Looking at possibly hiring a wee car to get around in as Irwindale is 20 miles outside LA.

Now I've been driving for 12 years in the UK.

Should I stick to public transport over there or have I got nothing to be worried about and just make sure I drive on the "wrong" side.

Any advice appreciated.

Lee

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
on a family holiday out there 3 years ago my step dad drove around la and he found it a nightmare, he did ok thou but la has some of the busyest roads i have ever seen.

we did a nice drive to las vegas thou, straight desert for miles and miles and a white car in la and a yellow bug juice car in vegas

·
Registered
1,451 Posts
I drove in New york and from there to conneticut a few weeks back, they are crazy over there lol, i was in the middle lane of a motorway doing about 70mph when 2 cars passed me either side! They have no lane discipline, they undertake etc

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
They have no lane discipline, they undertake etc
I thought America didn't have an overtake or undertake distinction?

You can pass a car on either side, there's no law saying you have to pass on the outside and not the inside I don't think.

I could be wrong, but I thought thats how it was over there?

·
Registered
2,788 Posts
its not too bad driving over there

may be busy in certain places but physically driving the car is no issue

yeah, the freeway's can be a bit mad

·
Registered
4,686 Posts
They have no lane discipline, they undertake etc
I thought America didn't have an overtake or undertake distinction?

You can pass a car on either side, there's no law saying you have to pass on the outside and not the inside I don't think.

I could be wrong, but I thought thats how it was over there?