Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
948 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

So I'm thinking of getting rid of the Bora - it's doing my head in to be perfectly honest. It doesn't always start, likes to cut out sometimes, has faulty locking, thermostat and temperature thing don't work, it costs a bomb to run - £55 for a tank whats that all about, the fuel filler cap lock is broken, and sometimes hairdressers want to race and they beat me. And all this is making me sad!! Thing is, I bought it for £2600 (I think) and have spent about £1200 on it since then. I'm a student right I cant be doing that! But now I have a huge dilemma of what to get instead.

Im thinking something pretty new, only a few years old. My requirements are:

SAFE. I have a big issue with dying (lol) and love to believe NCAP safety ratings so it has to be a 5* rating really. Maybe 4* but I'd have to consider it.

Economical to run. The driving I do is long distance motorway driving and in town driving - nothing else at all anymore.

High spec - I want leather, cruise control, CD changer that sort of thing.

Reliable - I don't have skills to do anything to it myself.

Attractive - since being on here I feel i've been conditioned to only like German styling! But I like Ford too as that's where I started.

Decent size - I cart lots of people and luggage around all the time so it cant be a supermini.

I have been thinking about a few options: A3, Grande Punto, Focus, Fiesta, new Astra or Polo.

I'd really like to hear your thoughts please guys, I'm in a bit of a pickle!

Thanks [Y]

P.S: Budget about £5k

·
Registered
504 Posts