Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, im new to the club an im looking at buying a bora and was hoping for a little help and advise on what i should be looking for. is there any common faults, common weak points or areas that start to rust. its a 2001 1.9tdi sport 115bhp with the 6 speed box with very low mileage.

Any help would great

Thanks James.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Hi mate, im pretty new to the Bora as well having just bought a 2003 1.9TDi Sport 150bhp... now a few things I have found along the way are... to check the window switches! The front 2 switches have 2 up and 2 down positions... half press up or down is manual (window will stop when you let go of the switch) and full press up or down is automatic (window goes all the way up or down without holding the switch)... on my Bora, passenger side worked fine but drivers side wouldnt go up automatically... result a new switch unit was needed.

Also, as its a sport model, it will have climatronic (atleast I think so, mine does as did my mates), stick the air con on and check under the bonnet to ensure the cooling fans are working! This is a common problem with them failing on low speed. Check the sticky topic called FAN PROBLEM - POLL SYNOPSIS.

Great cars anyhow so im sure it will be fine and you will love it!

·
Registered
4,014 Posts
would not worry about mileage mate. My boras at 166000k and still pulls like a mofo. It is no where near standard either and holds up fine.

Head gaskets go on the after a while but i think fine once replaced. just make sure diesels have a good history with RELIGIOUS oil changes.

·
Registered
882 Posts