Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
I'm no expert but apparently over time it will clog your injectors, oh and your car will smell like a chip shop [:D]

·
Registered
3,956 Posts
I think the problem is with it rotting the seals.

On the older 8v PD's and 110's, 90's etc It's safe as long as you go every 4th tank on normal derv so I believe.

I'd love to use this stuff and have even thought of having a go at making my own. Can't buy it where I live however some Tescos sell B95 which is 95% normal derv and 5% bio, but again not around here.

Quite amazing stuff if you use it pure, it is said to clean injectors and the engine internally very very well.

In 10-20 years I think it'll be routinely available.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Yep, it rots the seals.  I design diesel engine installations for a living, and Bosch do not recommend using biodiesel at all in their fuel injection systems. Some manufacturers (Stanadyne) will allow 1 to 9% mixture to standard diesel but this has to meet a certain DIN rating so reused cooking oil is a no-no.   In other words - don't bother.

·
Registered
164 Posts
There is nothing wrong with Bio-Diesel. The stuff some garages are now selling is 95/5 ie 5% reconstituted oils and fats which is fine. Agricultural grade is not fine ie anything over 5%. In 5 years there will be no more diesel as Bio is for the environment pure and simple. I have been running it in my PD 150 for 3 months now - it improves MPG and it doesn't blow out black smoke either. It also burns with a pleasant smell so whoever thinks it smells like a chipshop must be using dodgy chip shops!

Do a google search on the FACTS behind the Bio Diesel. At 84.9p/litre its a snip....It used to be 80.9 but it too has crept up in line with all the other fuels.

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·