Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey peeps,

I'm just wondering whether anyone can give me some advise? I have been doing a PhD for the past 3 years. Now that the 3 years of funding are up (from 1st Oct 2003 to 1st Oct 2006), I have no income. I do not want to get a part-time job as I need all the time I can get to prepare for my viva, which is an oral exam based on 3 years of work and is probably the most stressful exam I will ever do. So I am still working full-time (9am - 5pm) at the uni preparing for my viva. I don't think I could really do a part-time job on top of this as I would get too tired and it would add too much stress.

So my question is, am I entitled to any money from anywhere like JSA? I am still registered as a student at the University of Liverpool as I have just paid my tuition fees for thesis pending registration. I'm not sure when the official moment when I am no longer a student is. Is it when (if) I pass my viva or is it when I have the graduation? I suppose I am seeking a job, so would I be entitled to JSA? It seems an unusual situation to be in, but hopefully someone has been in a similar situation and can help me.

cheers,

Rye

·
Registered
112 Posts
I didn't go further than getting accepted to do a PhD because I opted for a job, but I was under the impression that as long as you're still registered as a PhD student, you're still entitled to funding. I know a lot has changed regarding finance since I was at Uni, but your tutor must be able to point you in the right direction.

·
Super Moderator
8,768 Posts
I don't really understand!!!! Why can't you get a Saturday / Sunday job (I'm assuming 9 - 5 means weekdays at uni)?

You could always sell your car to finance your education rather than waiting "cap-in-hand" for a government handout.

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·