Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2002 MK4 1.8t GTi AUM
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,
I am new to VW and have a 2001 GTi i am doing up, I have just bought the car and some of the AC pipework has been cut and removed (a previous owner), I plan to just remove the rest of the system and was wondering if i will have any issues with the radiator cooling fans running properly ?? and will the non AC auxiliary belt be a strait fit with the pump removed ??
I haven't had a chance to run the car up to full temp while sitting still and check fan operation (as i had to leave for work and work away), although when buying the car it was sitting ticking over from cold while I had a look over it, then took the car on a run with the temp gauge sitting where is should and even left running after drive while we talked £££ and sorted out V5, the gauge never moved above where it should be (cant remember hearing fan running) drive home gauge as it should be.
Thanks for your help

·
Registered
1,217 Posts
Imo fan operation should be fine, it'll be as if AC is switched off. The compressor coil is just on or off, and the high pressure switch only needs to be read when the AC is on, or attempted to be switched on. Could even just leave the pressure switch connected and cable tied out of the way, so it would just read low pressure and AC would never attempt to switch on, and power wouldn't go to the compressor plug.

Non AC aux belt will fit fine with compressor in situ, or with removed.

Do you have auto climate control or just regular 3 knob controls? Not sure if it's different for auto climate control, my thinking is for the bog standard controls.

·
Registered
2002 MK4 1.8t GTi AUM
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·