Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm a newbie on here but I've been reading the forum for about two weeks.

I put a deposit down on a 1999 T golf 1.8 Turbo tonight and thought I'd better register and ask about the pitfalls to owning one!

What do I need to look out for? And modifying - would just a chip make a difference or do ireally need to go down the filter and exhaust mode (I want to keep it as stock looking as possible as it's for my work).

Now from a brief search it looks like I've bought a very early motor (agu?) - please can someone reassure me that I've not bought a total dog!).

Many thanks

Oi_Oi

·
Registered
342 Posts
Chip makes a huge difference

Still the best bang per buck you can get

Any of the companies mentioned on here will give you good results with slightly variable power delivery the only difference

·
Registered
2,969 Posts
Welcome to the forum [^]

Don't worry about your engine being a dog, all the 1.8t are very good engines. VW have made some improvements over the years but you will certainly find the agu tuneable.

Best chip for your engine is gonna be the upsolute, its a good combination of cost and power.

Why not come along to our London meet this Sunday and get some ideas

http://www.uk-mkivs.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=51749

·
Registered
2,109 Posts
Hi mate. The main thing IMO to look out for off the top of my head i think would be to make sure it has been serviced properly and regularly at the correct intervals, preferably from a VAG dealership. As far as modifying goes, there are a lot of routes you can take, so plenty of room for individuality there, it's just a case of how much you have to spend!