Volkswagen Mark IV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to this so be gentle with me.

I'm looking for a new car for the wife. Needs to be a golf and something that I can have a play around in on the weekend when i get out of the company bmw diesel. Originally looking for a 2002 180 1.8T but can't track down a good one. I've recently come across a 03 53 5dr v64 without much in the way of extras (no leather or sat nav)12k miles for just over ?15k with a dealer. The price seems pretty good but i have the following concerns.

1. Future depreciation

2. Running costs..servicing/expensive complicated bits

3. School run during the week 5miles per day..will this cause any problems

4. Security and if this is a car that thieves are interested in

Hopefully someone can put my concerns to rest.

Cheers

·
Registered
92 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the forum.

The school run will kill the fuel economy, especially in winter when the engine will spend a lot of its time running rich while it warms up. The 1.8T should be better in this respect if only because it has a smaller engine and is a bit lighter. If you can stomach the idea of getting a diesel, then you'd probably be better off with a 130 or 150BHP TDI.

Depreciation will probably depend on how much the cost of fuel goes up in the next few years.

As for security, if you get the car delocked, then the only thing you'll have to worry about is someone nicking the keys. The 2.8 4motion has been around for 5 or 6 years now, so older models are available fairly cheaply, so there should be less motivation for thieves to target newer ones, but who knows how their minds work.

·
Registered
539 Posts
WHat's your avearge mileage going to be per year???

MPG would be the biggest concern if you do a fair mileage!!

Think 4-motion cruiser, 180 GTI a "GTI"!! That's what was intended when launched...